My Passion for Words

I cannot deny it: I love words passionately, fiercely, endlessly…they send a little shiver of delight up my spine when I read them. Only recently was it that I got to thinking about my love of quotes and what it really means. Why, I wondered, do I take so much joy in the words of others? Why is it that I clutch at a new quote with such hungry, excited desperation? The more I thought about it, the more I realized that what I love most about quotes is the ability they give me to relate to others. They provide a foundation from which I can be moved by others, relating to them even if I do not know them. The power of words allows me to really connect with others in a way that is intimate, it is amazing for me.
Life, in essence, would be worthless without words. Though I don’t know if everyone would agree with that fact (or even if I do), I am certain that my world is an infinitely better because of the words that fill its spaces and provide me with the tools necessary to convey my thoughts and emotions. Words change me every single day. They shift and shape my life. I am not certain that all would be lost if my life was void of words, but I know for sure that, without words, I would not be living; I would be merely existing.

“The human mind has not achieved anything greater than the ability to share feelings & thoughts through words” – James Earl Jones
This entry was posted in Piece of "Mine" and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

