Choc-au-lait

“God gave the angels wings & gave humans chocolate” – Anonymous 

I cannot & will not deny it….I absolutely, unconditionally, categorically, decidedly, no ifs ands or buts, positively, unquestionably…LOVE chocolate. You may call it an addiction, I call it infatuation at first bite…sincerely, I don´t really mind, because it gives me soooo much pleasure & I don´t think it can harm me or anybody else (maybe if I eat a million chocolates at once) only my waistline. I love all kinds of chocolate (white chocolate only in cheesecake) but my favorite is definitely milk chocolate. I know, I know dark is the good one…but I don´t only feed my body, I also feed my soul & my soul prefers milk chocolate. I love both commercial & gourmet chocolate (although I can tell the difference right away) it really depends on my mood & budget. I savor its exquisite flavor with good company or all by myself (which is also good company). The only thing I don´t like chocolate is ice cream (for some unexplainable reason) & my favorite thing chocolate (besides the real thing) is really really moist chocolate cake…mmmmm…I get chills just by thinking of it. For me chocolate is not a treat but an experience in & of itself.

There are many food items that enhance its flavor like nuts, raisins, caramel, fruit, cream cheese, etc. As well as many goodies that can be prepared with it like cookies, brownies, fudge, truffles, cake, mousse, etc. all of which I love. Although I think it tastes amazing all by itself (with milk & sugar of course.) I always try to find the opportunity to make these for family & friends, because it´s my way of sharing the love, for in my mind they´ll feel the extreme pleasure I feel when I eat them. Chocolate is part of our culture & heritage, and I will certainly pass the love for it to my future generations. Chocolate to me is truly a gift from above, for it tastes heavenly & gives out an extreme sense of pleasure to all who enjoy its wonderfulness…a.k.a me.

I am not going to go scientific on you about the benefits of dark chocolate (most of us already know it´s a great source of antioxidants)…I´d rather go mainstream & tell you the benefits of milk chocolate. Contrary to popular belief, milk chocolate does have its benefits, they are not as many as dark chocolate, albeit, there are still some to be considered. For starters, it is an excellent mood enhancer (as most of us have already experienced), it´s a stimulator to the brain which increases stamina (physical endurance), it turns out that chocolate milk is far better than Gatorade when it comes to post workout recovery, because it provides the nutrients needed after strenuous physical activity. Of course, moderation is key, because it´s high in fat content & sugar. Point to be taken here is, we need fat in our diet & milk chocolate can be a great source for that fat percentage. I usually am a very mindful eater & have a thing for healthy food, but when it comes to chocolate I only focus on pleasure (there are only so much pleasures in life, this is one I will not deny myself.) For me, moderation implies a real challenge, for sometimes I can´t help myself. Everybody that knows me knows that the best gift they can give me is chocolate & no, I almost never save some for later, I don´t know what cloy means, I´ve never experienced it before with chocolate. All I know is: “If you give me good chocolate, I´ll give you my best, for it means you know what I love or you just got lucky.”

“Strength is the ability to break a chocolate bar into pieces with your bare hands & then eat just one of those pieces” – Judith Viorst

This entry was posted in l´amour, Piece of "Mine" and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Choc-au-lait

  1. facebook says:

    Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless think
    of if you added some great pictures or video clips to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and
    videos, this site could definitely be one of the most beneficial
    in its niche. Awesome blog!

  2. Rogelio García says:

    Excellent post!

Leave a Reply

