Growing Young: 33 going on 13

Today is my birthday & I´m turning 33…amazing huh (for me at least). When I was younger, 33 was OLD, now I feel 33 is young!!!! I´ve decided to stop trying to find myself – like I did in my 20s- & with the help of God start creating myself now in my 30s, to look forward to a better 40s & beyond (if I get lucky). It´s a cool feeling now that I see myself as a thirtysomething & vividly remember when I was a child (13 to be precise). How I wanted time to fly by so I could see myself as an adult & experience freedom of doing whatever I chose, see who I would marry, what career would I pick, see myself as a mother, see what I would physically look like & what kind of person would I turn out to be, etc. And now that I can see myself as all of the above, is when I would give anything to become 13 again (but only for an hour & a half). It´s funny how the human mind works. Don´t get me wrong, I absolutely, unquestionably love my present life, it´s just I sometimes get nostalgic thinking of my wonderful childhood, the things I did, the places I went, the houses I lived in, the music I listened, the movies I watched, the friends I hanged out with, I just LOVE to reminisce just about everything & anything about my childhood. My birthday is the perfect time to do so. Now that I look at it, this is probably one of the main reasons why my favorite music is the 80s, why my favorite movie is “Back to the Future” & why on earth I liked the movie”13 going on 30″ so much…it all makes sense now…it SO brings me back to my childhood.

On my birthday I love to look back, but I also like to ponder on my present & my future. What have I done so far, what have I changed about myself, what do I need to improve (those who know me must have pretty good ideas), what have I gotten better at, what is it I want (that´s a toughie), redefining success & much more. The one thing I truly am is grateful at The Lord, for everything these past three decades & three years have given me, tought me, shown me, denied me, etc. Whenever I give advice to someone & they say “thank you” I always say “You´re welcome, believe me no one handed me my 33 years of age, I´ve had to live them”…I can thank no one but The Lord for that 😉 I would love to return to a time when I truly lived without really thinking what others might think, where my soul wasn´t capable to judge anyone just by looking at them, where my free spirit was much more important than my physical appearance, where I was content with very little & befriended just about anyone that crossed my path…..oh but I can, if I abide to The Scripture.

“And he said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven” – Matthew 18:3

When we take time to see all God has given us, we see the big picture much more clearly. God has lavished good gifts on all of us. We need only to take the time to acknowledge them & thank Him.

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough & more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today & creates a vision for tomorrow.” – Melody Beattie

Have you counted your blessings lately?

This entry was posted in Life...it happens, Piece of "Mine" and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Growing Young: 33 going on 13

  1. Thank you John, I dearly appreciate it!! I sure did have a happy birthday & am looking forward to a happy year…I wish the same to you….cheers 😀

  2. John says:

    Wonderful post. And Happy Birthday to you, Melissa! I hope you had a wonderful day and that you have a wonderful and full year ahead.

  3. karen says:

    Excellent my friend!

Leave a Reply

