I am Woman

We are strong beyond measure; we are resilient & protect fiercely those we love; we are multitaskers & very much enjoy our gift; we are caregivers & intuitive beings; when we love we sacrifice to the core; yes we can give life but most importantly we choose to teach life to our children; we embrace beauty but mostly the one within…we are called women.

There is no need for women to brag about what we are capable of doing, we just have to look at history. I wholeheartedly believe, without a shadow of a doubt, that female is the stronger sex. Not to dismiss men´s efforts, surely they have their spot in the hall of fame, but I believe women have done a tremendous amount of work to better this world starting with their own family. We have many roles that we embrace & try to live to our best of our capabilities.

Sometimes we have to get weak to realize how strong we are. We women are not ashamed to cry, nor to ask for directions whether while driving or cruising through life. The real heroines are the subdued working class mothers whose backs hurt because of their daily labor of solely providing & taking care of their children; women who choose what´s right as opposed to what they desire; the working women who choose a career because they want to shine with their own light; the fearless wives who subject to pain & endure all for the sake of their family; etc. The list is immense. These are the women we should honor & look up to.

♬…Oh yes I am wise
But it’s wisdom born of pain
Yes, I’ve paid the price
But look how much I gained
If I have to, I can do anything
I am strong (strong)
I am invincible (invincible)
I am woman

You can bend but never break me
’cause it only serves to make me
More determined to achieve my final goal
And I come back even stronger
Not a novice any longer
’cause you’ve deepened the conviction in my soul…♬

– Helen Reddy

“A strong woman knows she has strength enough for the journey. But a woman of strength knows it is IN the journey, that she will become strong” – Unknown

“A strong woman won’t let anyone get the best of her. A woman of strength gives the best of herself to everyone”-Unknown

With this post I want to honor the women in my life who have taught me SO much valuable lessons. There are simply no words to describe their positive influence on me. Starting with my mom whose incredible love for her children, strength & resilience have inspired my life; my daughter whose character, heart & intelligence never ceases to amaze me & last but by no means least my girlfriends for loving me just the way that I am, without ever trying (or wanting) to change me. I love you all beyond belief. All I can say is that I am proud & honored to be a woman in this male-dominated world…congrats to my fellow intuitive-hormone challenged-resourceful-multitaskers, raise your cup high & be proud to be a woman, God bless us…cheers!!

This entry was posted in Life...it happens, Piece of "Mine", Womanhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I am Woman

  1. Rogarh At Hn says:

    Great post, best of the best!

    Love,

    RG

  2. I had a wonderful day, surely you had one yourself…love you lots!!

  3. Thanks a lot Tes, I appreciate your comment. I truly embrace being a women with all the good, the bad & the ugly parts of our personality. I think God intended us to be different than men for many reasons. The best starting point to bettering everything around us is to profoundly love ourselves first, not try to please everybody around us & never ever apologize for who we are…cheers 🙂

  4. Tessa says:

    Wonderful piece to reflect upon!! Loved it!! I hope you had a great day and may we continue to celebrate ourselves every single day in the most minuscule details that make us so grand! Love!

  5. Thank you fo reading Karen, you made my day!! I do love being a woman regardless of all the hardships we might endure, we have many gifts as well…cheers to you Karen!!

  6. Karen Khaye says:

    Oh I just want to break into tears. This post made me miss my grandma. Thank you so much for sharing, Melissa!

  7. Karen Khaye says:

    Oh how I love being a woman. And I am so proud of my mom as well. There are so many things I am grateful for, but one of the most special gift I’ll cherish forever is the gift of being a woman 🙂 Cheers to all the women of strength!

Leave a Reply

