I Asked God…

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I asked God to give me happiness.
God said, “No, I give you blessings. Happiness is up to you.”
 
I asked God to spare me pain.
God said, “No. Suffering draws you apart from worldly cares & brings you closer to me.”
 
I asked God to make my spirit grow.
God said, “No. You must grow on your own, but I will prune you to  make you fruitful.”
 
I asked God for all things that I might enjoy life.
God said, “No. I will give you life so that you may enjoy all things.”
 
I asked God to help me help those weaker than myself.
God said, “Ah, you finally got the idea.”
 
– Unknown
 

“You ask and do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions.” James 4:3

This entry was posted in Nuggets of Wisdom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Asked God…

  1. R.García says:

    Beautiful, like its blogger . . . 😉

  2. Melissa says:

    Thanks Poet for stopping by, glad you liked it 🙂

  3. Poet Kaylynté says:

    Nice! 🙂

Comments are closed.