Busy: An overrated word

keep calmEverywhere we turn we find busy, busy people around, even when they are not busy they’re busy with their thoughts. The fact is we live in an extremely busy world. Some people honor the word busy as if it is a prize in and of itself, as if being busy somehow makes them feel virtuous. I’ve been trapped in this mentality – thank you very much type A personality. – But the past few years I’ve realized that there is something wrong with this picture. Making myself busy all the time was an unconscious attempt to numb my feelings, my real intentions in life, it was my way of feeling worthy of myself. Until I found out that I needed to go on a different route. I thought that by being constantly busy I was being more productive – ergo more worthy – till I realized the opposite is true.

Just last year I used to think that with two small children and a demanding job, how on earth could I not be busy & overwhelmed!? Then I found meditation as a tool to help cure my inner buzz. I learned that I could be busy without being overwhelmed. That despite having an endless laundry list I could be calm and at the same time be twice as productive. This comes as a surprise to no one, since meditation is older than the dust. But the fact remains that if I do not incorporate meditation into my daily life it is going to stay on a wishful thinking list A.K.A worthless.

I’ve come to realize that ‘busyness’ is a state of mind. Even saying the word ‘I’m so busy’ to myself somehow hinders my day into unproductiveness, it gets me tired before I even started, thus overwhelmed. I’ve known people who despite their full schedules & overwhelming agenda, seem absolutely calm and at ease, and I say to myself ‘I want a piece of that.’ These are the people who I feel drawn to. They have been a long-standing puzzle in my mind. Not anymore! What I love most about calmness is that it’s contagious (so is agitation) & when I see calm I become calm. Thank you calm people out there, you’re doing a wonderful job (even changing the world) without even realizing it.

“…I think that there is nothing, not even crime, more opposed to poetry, to philosophy, ay, to life itself than this incessant business.”- Henry David Thoreau

Now, I know there’s more to keeping-ourselves-calm-through-busy-times than meditation. Sometimes we lose ourselves so much in our busyness that we create blind spots in our personality, that of course we don’t realize (they’re called blind spots for a reason, duh.) These come in a variety of annoyances such as: not being present in a conversation, not reading between the lines of the needs of loved ones, not assessing our own needs (maybe only our wants), and the likes. It amazes me how I sometimes catch myself not paying attention to my children (while they’re pulling my arm to go play with them) whilst reading a blog post on ‘How to listen to my children’s needs.’ It happens to the best of us. But the important thing is to notice those little moments so they don’t turn into big regrets.

Awareness is my other tool. Try as we might, it is virtually impossible to notice every single mistake we make, but the more we are ‘aware’ of the importance of awareness in our lives, the more capable we are of being in a course-correct mode. Multitasking is not something we should strive for. I think the guys have it right (sorry girls). Multitasking as useful as it sometimes is, thwarts our concentration & our blind spots go ballistic.

“Self-control is strength; right thought is mastery; calmness is power”- J.A.

Yoga & regular exercise are excellent ways to destress oneself. Everyone who knows me knows that exercise does not come easy to me, it is not imprinted in my DNA (like it seems to be in some people), but since I am aware of its crucial importance in my life I do like Nike says. And yes I have reaped its multiple benefits – more the emotional than the physical ones.-

be still 2Prayer is my best tool, it enables me to use the other tools adequately. When I sync my spirit with my Father’s, He allows me to realize the momentousness of bettering myself. He makes me feel loved and worthy so I can become aware of my faults and therefore find the will & the ways of correcting them. He enables me to become emotionally & physically healthy thus allowing me to add meditation & exercise into my everyday life. What would I be without Him? Just a bunch of roads without a map.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts & your minds in Christ Jesus.”- Phil 4:6,7

This entry was posted in Nuggets of Wisdom, Piece of "Mine" and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.